Back to press releases

Shortlist revealed for Good to Go award sponsored by Just Eat

A Midlands Mexican, a Brighton vegan sushi burrito bar and a Leicestershire fish and chip shop, were today named on the shortlist for the Good to Go award at the Food Made Good Awards 2019, the Sustainable Restaurant Association’s (SRA) annual industry accolades for the most progressive purveyors of food and drink.

In recognition of the huge ongoing growth of this part of the sector, already worth £10bn a year, The Good to Go award, sponsored by Just Eat, is designed to reward a business whose main focus is takeaway (more than 50%), and which is helping to drive the sector forward in a positive way.

The judges were impressed with the approach of both Buena Comida in Dudley and Happy Maki, in Brighton for making their veg-led food tasty and appealing, and communicating with customers about it in an engaging, non-preaching way. Chris’s Fish ‘n’ Chips in Hinckley’s inclusion on the shortlist was down to its exceptional all-round approach to sustainability.

Andrew Kenny, Managing Director, Just Eat UK, said:

“Many of our restaurant partners work extremely hard to ensure their businesses are as sustainable as possible. We know this matters to our customers as well - they want to be able to enjoy their favourite takeaway whilst knowing it’s not having a negative impact on the wider world.

“We're delighted to be sponsoring the Good to Go award at the SRA's Food Made Good Awards for a third year, helping to recognise the best of the best in sustainable innovation across the takeaway sector. We want to wish the restaurants shortlisted a huge congratulations and best of luck for the finals!"

This award is one of 20 that will be presented at a special ceremony on 5th November at Troxy in East London. The Food Made Good Awards recognise restaurants and foodservice operators, as well as the businesses supplying them, whose extraordinary accomplishments in the last year are helping diners use the power of their appetites wisely.

Merseyside takeaway Brunch won this award in 2018 for its compelling mix of ethical coffee, local sourcing and a progressive approach to recycling.

The Food Made Good Awards recognise restaurants and foodservice businesses whose accomplishments in the last year have driven progress in the industry and demonstrated that all food can be made delicious, ethical and sustainable. The shortlist is a treasure trove of concepts proven to make a positive difference. Every operator can find at least one great idea to try in their business.

Raymond Blanc, OBE, President of the SRA, said:

“The whole world and kitchens across the UK are waking up to the climate threat. The Food Made Good Awards are the perfect platform for shining a light on those kitchens and the teams working in them, that are using incredible creativity and taking risks to help their customers make food choices that are good for them and the planet. Every chef and restaurateur will take inspiration from this shortlist of dozens of inspiring ideas and initiatives successfully implemented by their industry colleagues.”

Ten of the award categories align with the ten key themes of the SRA’s Food Made Good sustainability framework. Operators fulfilling all ten meet the very definition of a good restaurant or foodservice business. A full list of categories and the shortlisted restaurants are available below.

Melissa Hemsley who will be hosting the ceremony, said:

“I am excited about presenting the Food Made Good Awards and I can’t wait to discover, and of course reveal, all of the incredible winners when it comes to the big night on 5th November.”

In addition to the ten themed awards, there are a further ten categories including the People’s Favourite Restaurant. Readers of delicious. magazine have been voting for the five restaurants on the shortlist: café-ODE, Fodder, Poco Tapas Bar, SpiceBox and Yeo Valley Canteen.

Raymond Blanc’s Sustainability Hero 2019, will also be revealed at the ceremony, following in the footsteps of the likes of Jamie Oliver, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and the 2018 winner, Tim Lang.

Next article